Saturday, March 2, 2013

Sanford Wins Second Traveling Fire Bucket

The Sanford Fire Department is now home to yet another Traveling Fire Bucket award for outstanding support of the NC Jaycee Burn Center at UNC in Chapel Hill.

Fundraising Champs

The award is given to the fire department or group that makes the greatest financial contribution or support to the Burn Center for the year, per capita. The Bucket must be returned each year unless the department wins it for three years in a row.

This year, the Lee County Firefighters’ Burned Children Fund, an organization founded by firefighters with the Sanford Fire Department, capped off a multi-year winning streak by taking top place in fundraising for the third consecutive year.

The organization raised $16,750 for the Burn Center through public donations, t-shirt sales, 911 address signs sales, a golf tournament, and county-wide recycling.

Visit The Bucket

This win marks the Fund’s sixth year as a winner and second time bringing home a Traveling Fire Bucket. The organization made a permanent home for its first Traveling Fire Bucket award in 2007.

The first award resides at Central Fire Station and the most recent award will be on display at Fire Station #3 on Cool Springs Road in Sanford.

Awards Keep Coming

Burn Center staff members Ernest Grant, Anita Fields, and Shirley Massey also awarded the Lee County Firefighters’ Burned Children Fund a special plaque for their support of the center in 2012, which included providing Christmas gifts for patients, financial support of families, and more.

Sanford firefighters present to receive the awards were Captain David Nance, Captain Michael Thomas, Kelvin Kelly, Heather Lineberry, and Tracy Watson. These firefighters are also Fire and Life Safety Educators who support local burn survivors, as well as fire prevention and education efforts in Sanford.

The Lee County chapter of the Firefighters' Burned Children Fund was found in 2000 by firefighters with the Sanford Police Department. It is comprised of firefighters from all fire stations in Lee County.

The awards were given out at the annual Fire and Life Safety Conference, held this February in Asheville.

No comments:

Post a Comment